The Solar Eclipse

Photo by me

Like many of you I was very excited to see the solar eclipse today. I thought about driving to see totality, but ended up choosing against it as I figured it would be too much, and I had a quiz the morning of. So, I decided to stick around campus and watch it from here. Aaaaaaaaaaand it was underwhelming. It was just way too cloudy to see it consistently. We only got brief glimpses at it. I was able to snap this photo just before it went back behind the clouds. I’m hoping others who went to the area of totality got to see it better. I remember the one in 2017, I was also very close to totality then. It was a really cool experience since there were no clouds in the sky. The coolest thing I remember was that all the leaves made crescent shaped shadows on the ground which made a really cool effect.

,

One response to “The Solar Eclipse”

  1. Hi Ethan – first of all, great picture. Even with the cloud cover, I still found the eclipse super exciting. I was just in awe of the pure coincidence of it all. Prior to the eclipse, I saw a video on youtube that detailed just how lucky we are to be able to see an solar eclipse whatsoever. It just so happens that the Sun is about 400 times larger than the moon, but also 400 times farther away. Furthermore, many, many years, the Moon will be too distant from the Earth to fully block out the sun ever. With all this being said, we should be glad to see any amount of solar eclipse, ever!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started